Jesus and the gospels pdf

7.55  ·  6,225 ratings  ·  542 reviews
jesus and the gospels pdf

Going Deeper | Jesus And Nicodemus | Common Ground Church

Christ Jesus died on the Cross to redeem mankind, to save us from our sins because of his love for us. He carried his cross up the Via Dolorosa in Jerusalem to Calvary, was nailed to the Cross, and hung between two common criminals. The fourteen Stations of the Cross are 1 Pilate condemns Jesus to death; 2 Jesus takes up his Cross; 3 He falls the first time; 4 Jesus meets his sorrowful mother Mary; 5 Simon helps carry the cross; 6 Veronica cleans his face; 7 He falls the second time; 8 Jesus consoles the women of Jerusalem; 9 He falls the third time; 10 Jesus is stripped of his garments; 11 Jesus is nailed to the cross; 12 Jesus Christ dies on the cross; 13 Our Lord is taken down from the cross; 14 Christ is laid in the tomb. Jesus of Nazareth is looking down from the cross just after he was crucified between two criminals. He sees the soldiers who have mocked, scourged, and tortured him, and who have just nailed him to the cross. He probably remembers those who have sentenced him - Caiaphas and the high priests of the Sanhedrin.
File Name: jesus and the gospels
Size: 32387 Kb
Published 24.12.2018



To browse Academia. Skip to main content. You're using an out-of-date version of Internet Explorer. By using our site, you agree to our collection of information through the use of cookies. To learn more, view our Privacy Policy. Log In Sign Up.

Cholee took several theology classes during college and enjoys partaking in bible studies and diving deep into scripture. The word gospel means good news, and is a term used to define the written accounts of Jesus of Nazareth in the New Testament. The four widely known gospels are the canonical gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John. However the term can also refer to the apocryphal, non-canonical, the Jewish, and the gnostic gospels. There are several accounts of Jesus that are not recognized or accepted by orthodox Christians, however the gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John are going to be my primary focus. Despite the gospel of Matthew being the first book in the new testament the majority view today, is that Mark was actually the first gospel followed by Matthew and then Luke.


The synoptic gospels consist of books of Matthew, Mark, and Luke. These three gospels contain much of the same material. The books of Matthew and Luke tell nearly all of the stories told in Mark. Matthew and Luke also share several stories that are not in Mark. In addition, all three books are written as if the authors had personally observed all of the events and were reporting what they saw at the time. The Gospel of John specifically omits much of the material found in the synoptic gospels.


  1. Eugène G. says:

    To browse Academia.

  2. Yvette C. says:

    (PDF) Syllabus: Jesus in the Gospels | Ralph Korner -

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *